Online Courses (Distance Education)

Online Courses (Distance Education)

Distance Education (DE) means ONLINE EDUCATION.  Distance Education (DE) at College of Alameda offers online courses equivalent to a classroom-based course. Courses are taught by the same qualified instructors and follow the same curriculum and standards as the classroom-based course.

COAs Distance Education uses Moodle as a Learning Management System (LMS).  Moodle and other technologies are used in learning exercises every week to ensure effective andregular authentic contact between instructor and student.

The dates for the Spring 2016 intersession are May 31, 2016 to June 17, 2016. 

***Dates are subject to change.

DateDayDescription
May 31, 2016TuInstruction begins
June 1, 2016WLast day to add classes
June 1, 2016WLast day to drop without a ‘W’ appearing on Transcript
June 1, 2016WLast day to drop classes and receive a refund
June 2, 2016ThCensus Day
June 3, 2016FLast day to file for PASS/NO PASS grading option
June 14, 2016TuLast day to withdraw and receive a ‘W’. All outstanding fees are still due even if classes are dropped on this day
June 17, 2016FSpring Intersession Ends

 

 

 

e-Counseling services available to COA Distance Education Students!

 

  • Online classes in which students complete their coursework via the internet (though some online classes require that students travel to campus for a class orientation and/or exams).
  • Hybrid classes in which some class hours each week are completed by students via the internet while others take place in a classroom setting.
  • Web-enhanced classes are traditional courses but use of internet to enhance communication, out-of-class assignments, and learning resources.
  • African American Studies 5
    Course Code: 24279
    Instructor: Sherrone Smith
    ssmith@peralta.edu
  • Anthropology 1
    Course code: 20981
    Instructor: Gisele Bousquet
    gbousquet@peralta.edu
  • Anthropology 2
  • Course Code: 20908
  • Instructor: Gisele Bousquet
  • gbousquet@peralta.edu

 

  • Anthropology 3
  • Course Code: 21477
  • Instructor: Gisele Bousquet
  • gbousquet@peralta.edu

 

  • Art 1
  • Course code: 20986
  • Maria Guzman
  • mguzman@peralta.edu

 

  • Biology 4 (H)
  • Course Code: 21030
  • Reza Majlesi
  • rmajlesi@peralta.edu
  • Biology 4 (H)
  • Course Code: 21034
  • Reza Majlesi
  • rmajlesi@peralta.edu

 

  • Biology 10 (H)
  • Course Code: 21024
  • Reza Majlesi
  • rmajlesi@peralta.edu

 

  • Biology 31
  • Course Code: 21036
  • Reza Majlesi
  • rmajlesi@peralta.edu

 

  • Business 2
  • Course Code: 21049
  • Carolyn Johnson
  • cjohnson@peralta.edu

 

  • Business 5 (H)
  • Course Code: 21349
  • Carolyn Johnson
  • cjohnson@peralta.edu

 

  • Business 10 (H)
  • Course Code: 21458
  • Carolyn Johnson
  • cjohnson@peralta.edu

 

  • Business 10
  • Course Code: 21459
  • Carolyn Johnson
  • cjohnson@peralta.edu

 

  • Business 54
  • Course Code: 21045
  • Carolyn Johnson
  • cjohnson@peralta.edu

 

  • Communication 1A (H)
  • Course Code: 24290
  • Jennifer Fowler
  • jfowler@peralta.edu

 

  • Communication 1A (H)
  • Course Code: 21078
  • Jennifer Fowler
  • jfowler@peralta.edu

 

  • Communication 20 (H)
  • Course Code: 21360
  • Jennifer Fowler
  • jfowler@peralta.edu

 

  • Computer Information Systems 1
  • Course Code: 21069
  • Walter Robinson
  • wrobinson@peralta.edu

 

  • Computer Information Systems 1 (Lab)
  • Course Code: 21061
  • Walter Robinson
  • wrobinson@peralta.edu

 

  • Computer Information Systems 1
  • Course Code: 21066
  • Walter Robinson
  • wrobinson@peralta.edu

 

  • Computer Information Systems 1 (Lab)
  • Course Code: 21067
  • Walter Robinson
  • wrobinson@peralta.edu
  • Computer Information Systems 1
  • Course Code: 21069
  • Manny Uy
  • muy@peralta.edu

 

  • Computer Information Systems 1 (Lab)
  • Course Code: 21061
  • Manny Uy
  • muy@peralta.edu

 

  • Computer Information Systems 1
  • Course Code: 24948
  • Marilyn Varnado
  • mvarnado@peralta.edu
  • Computer Information Systems 1 (Lab)
  • Course Code: 24949
  • Marilyn Varnado
  • mvarnado@peralta.edu

 

  • Computer Information Systems 1
  • Course Code: 24950
  • Marilyn Varnado
  • mvarnado@peralta.edu

 

  • Computer Information Systems 1 (Lab)
  • Course Code: 24951
  • Diane Johnson
  • djohnson@peralta.edu

 

  • Computer Information Systems 5
  • Course Code: 21070
  • Manny Uy
  • muy@peralta.edu

 

  • Computer Information Systems 5 (Lab)
  • Course Code: 21068
  • Manny Uy
  • muy@peralta.edu

 

  • Computer Information Systems 40 (H)
  • Course Code: 21073
  • Anthony Villegas
  • avillegas@peralta.edu

 

  • Computer Information Systems 40 Lab (H)
  • Course Code: 21074
  • Anthony Villegas
  • avillegas@peralta.edu

 

  • Computer Information Systems 42 (H)
  • Course Code: 21332
  • Manny Uy
  • muy@peralta.edu
  • Computer Information Systems 42 Lab (H)
  • Course Code: 21333
  • Manny Uy
  • muy@peralta.edu
  • Counseling 24
  • Course Code: 21088
  • Jamar Mears
  • jmears@peralta.edu
  • Counseling 57
  • Course Code: 21083
  • Edwin Towle
  • etowle@peralta.edu
  • Counseling 221
  • Course Code: 21087
  • Vivian VirkkilaFelsch
  • vvirkkila@peralta.edu
  • Economics 1 (H)
  • Course Code: 21111
  • Diana Bajrami
  • dbajrami@peralta.edu
  • Economics 1
  • Course Code: 21109
  • Diana Bajrami
  • dbajrami@peralta.edu
  • Economics 1
  • Course Code: 21352
  • Diana Bajrami
  • dbajrami@peralta.edu
  • Economics 1
  • Course Code: 25037
  • Haengku Yoon
  • HYoon@dvc.edu
  • Economics 2 (H)
  • Course Code: 21108
  • Diana Bajrami
  • dbajrami@peralta.edu
  • Economics 2
  • Course Code: 21110
  • Diana Bajrami
  • dbajrami@peralta.edu
  • Economics 2
  • Course Code: 21353
  • Diana Bajrami
  • dbajrami@peralta.edu
  • English 1A
  • Course Code: 22841
  • Jay Rubin
  • jrubin@peralta.edu
  • English 1A (H)
  • Course Code: 24335
  • Wanda Sabir
  • wsabir@peralta.edu
  • English 1A (H)
  • Course Code: 21354
  • Wanda Sabir
  • wsabir@peralta.edu
  • English 1A (H)
  • Course Code: 24335
  • Maurice Jones
  • majones@peralta.edu
  • English 1B
  • Course Code: 21131
  • Maurice Jones
  • majones@peralta.edu
  • English 5
  • Course Code: 31132
  • Michelle Little
  • mhansen@peralta.edu
  • English 5 (H)
  • Course Code: 21386
  • Maurice Jones
  • majones@peralta.edu
  • English 30B (H)
  • Course Code: 24338
  • Patricia Nelson
  • pnelson@peralta.edu
  • English 31 (H)
  • Course Code: 24339
  • Maurice Jones
  • majones@peralta.edu
  • Geography 1
  • Course Code: 21182
  • Cady Bow
  • cbow@peralta.edu
  • Geography 1
  • Course Code: 21181
  • Gary Hasbrouck
  • ghasbrouck@peralta.edu
  • Geography 2
  • Course Code: 21180
  • Cady Bow
  • cbow@peralta.edu
  • Geography 2
  • Course Code: 21457
  • Gregory Schwartz
  • gschwartz@peralta.edu
  • History 2A
  • Course Code: 25053
  • Jeffrey Sanceri
  • jsanceri@peralta.edu
  • History 7A
  • Course Code: 21191
  • Ed Loretto
  • eloretto@peralta.edu
  • History 7A
  • Course Code: 21185
  • Ed Loretto
  • eloretto@peralta.edu
  • History 7B
  • Course Code: 21189
  • Ed Loretto
  • eloretto@peralta.edu
  • History 8A
  • Course Code: 21338
  • Jeffrey Sanceri
  • jsanceri@peralta.edu
  • History 8B
  • Course Code: 23860
  • Jeffrey Sanceri
  • jsanceri@peralta.edu
  • History 19
  • Course Code: 21339
  • Ed Loretto
  • eloretto@peralta.edu
  • Humanities 1 (H)
  • Course Code: 21203
  • Matthew Goldstein
  • mgoldstein@peralta.edu
  • Humanities 1 (H)
  • Course Code: 24296
  • Matthew Goldstein
  • mgoldstein@peralta.edu
  • Humanities 2
  • Course Code: 23856
  • Matthew Goldstein
  • mgoldstein@peralta.edu
  • Humanities 13A
  • Course Code: 21202
  • August Flowers
  • aflowers@peralta.edu
  • Library Information Sciences 85
  • Course Code: 21211
  • Jane Mckenna
  • jmckenna@peralta.edu
  • Math 13 (H)
  • Course Code: 21250
  • Claudia Abadia
  • cabadia@peralta.edu
  • Math 13 (H)
  • Course Code: 23898
  • Staff
  • Math 201 (H)
  • Course Code: 23899
  • Claudia Abadia
  • cabadia@peralta.edu
  • Math 203 (H)
  • Course Code: 21242
  • Claudia Abadia
  • cabadia@peralta.edu
  • Math 203 (H)
  • Course Code: 23900
  • Claudia Abadia
  • cabadia@peralta.edu
  • Math 203 (H)
  • Course Code: 21497
  • Staff
  • Music 10 (H)
  • Course Code: 21258
  • Glen Pearson
  • gpearson@peralta.edu
  • Philosophy 1
  • Course Code: 21262
  • Amir
  • Sabzevary
  • asabzevary@peralta.edu
  • Physics 10
  • Course Code: 21265
  • Byung Kyu Park
  • bpark@peralta.edu
  • Political Science 1
  • Course Code: 21271
  • Meagan Sweeney
  • mmmontague@peralta.edu
  • Political Science 3
  • Course Code: 21274
  • Meagan Sweeney
  • mmmontague@peralta.edu
  • Psychology 1A
  • Course Code: 21425
  • Sarah Peterson
  • speterson@peralta.edu
  • Psychology 1B
  • Course Code: 21277
  • Sarah Peterson
  • speterson@peralta.edu
  • Psychology 7A (H)
  • Course Code: 21379
  • Joanie Farley Gillispie
  • jfarleygillispie@peralta.edu
  • Psychology 12
  • Course Code: 21282
  • Elham Chishty
  • echishty@peralta.edu
  • Sociology 1
  • Course Code: 21294
  • Richard Harris
  • rharris@peralta.edu
  • Sociology 2
  • Course Code: 21377
  • Susan Prince-Ingram
  • sprince-ingram@peralta.edu
  • Sociology 3
  • Course Code: 21315
  • Sabeen sandhu
  • ssandhu@peralta.edu
  • Sociology 5
  • Course Code: 21426
  • Sabeen sandhu
  • ssandhu@peralta.edu
  • Sociology 120
  • Course Code: 24516
  • Sabeen sandhu
  • ssandhu@peralta.edu
  • SPAN 1A (H)
  • Course Code: 21295
  • Cynthia Weiss
  • cweiss@peralta.edu
  • SPAN 1A (H)
  • Course Code: 21296
  • Cynthia Weiss
  • cweiss@peralta.edu
  • SPAN 1A (H)
  • Course Code: 24631
  • Staff