Affirmative Action Committee

Responsible for developing recommendations for affirmative action policies to be submitted to the District Affirmative Action Committee, college administration, Academic Senate, Classified Council and College Council for approval; providing special efforts beyond district recruitment policies to recruit more diverse faculty; assessing campus climate and making recommendations on improving it; implementing district affirmative action plan on campus level; providing recommendations to promote multicultural awareness in curriculum and college activities; providing recommendations to ensure college is a harassment-free environment, both in terms of sexual and ethnic harassment; recommending a faculty member to serve on each probationary tenure review committee so as to achieve gender and ethnic balance; advising the President on affirmative action issues; preparing Student Equity Plan and monitoring progress of the plan.


NameArea Represented
Jannett JacksonCollege President (ex-officio)
Kerry ComptonVP of Student Services
Carlotta CampbellFaculty Representative
Mimi Leonard
Anthony Villegas
(vacant)Classified Representative
Muriel Montague
Brenda Lewis
(vacant)ASCOA Representatives